Ruger Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
118 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Would you guys please have a look at these not-so-great pics and see if you can tell if I have a problem with my extractor. While I might know my way around a revolver I am a 10/22 newbie. My 10/22 is about three years old and it has always seemed to have problems with "Stove Pipe" extraction regardless what ammo I use or which of the twelve magazines I have. Ten "10 Round" magazines and two "BX-25" magazines. Blazer ammo seems to be the best but none really run up to my satisfaction. I am intending to use this rifle at an Appleseed event so I need to get it running as well as possible. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Dan

·
Registered
441 Posts
Looks kinda crooked to me. Stock Ruger extractors are stamped where good aftermarket ones are wire edm cut. The wire edm ones have sharp hooks that grab the case rim better. Stamped parts are more rounded. You can see the rounded edge in your first and third pic.

I'd start with a good wire edm cut extractor like a Tony Kidd. They aren't real expensive and he has fair shipping charges.

10/22® and Ruger® 10/22® aftermarket trigger, barrel and parts by KIDD Innovative Design is his site.

·
Registered
159 Posts
The angle looks correct to me. The extractor slot is actually at a slight upward angle to align the extractor with the middle of the case head. Notice that if the extractor were horizontal across the bolt face, it would touch near the bottom of the case rim - making it much easier to slip off.

The lower corner of the extractor hook looks a little rounded off to me. It should be sharp. This could be causing the case to slip out. I usually recommending upgrading the extractor on all 10/22s - it's an inexpensive part and the aftermarket ones (Kidd and Volquartsen) are both made sharper and from a harder grade of steel than the Ruger OEM part.

·
Retired Moderator & Gunsmith
16,806 Posts