Ruger Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Thinking about buying a 1911, will be my firsy one.on a budget of 600.any advise would be appricated.

thanks DUKE

·
Registered
6,614 Posts
I have been a revolver shooter for over 40 years, last September I purchased a Ruger SR1911 and have been extremely pleased with my choice...as if I had any doubts to begin with :rolleyes:

Anyway, the SR1911 has a retail price tag of $799, I was able to get mine for $699...still out of your price range...unless you could put off your purchase and save some more, while looking for a good deal. The SR1911 is well worth the money, it's a quality shooter.

There are other 1911 model's within your price range but being that I am new to 1911's in general I don't feel I could recommend the best one for your money. There are more knowledgeable members who I'm sure will coming to your assistance in a minute.

Good luck with your quest!

·
Registered
53 Posts
Hey, definitely wait for the sr1911 if you can.

if you don't wanna wait, and you'd like a feature heavy quality shooter, go with the taurus pt1911.

you'll find them new for under $600 pretty easily, and they have some nice performance options on them too!

·
Registered
334 Posts
I am nearly in the same position as you. But I won't buy until next summer. I have the SR1911 at #1 on my list but the Remington R1 is second and I handled a Para GI at the LGS and it was pretty nice at $589.

·
Registered
1,067 Posts
There are some .22 caliber 1911's, Sig Sauer makes them for around $400 new but like the others said, you should wait to get the SR1911, its probably my next purchase as well.

·
Registered
28 Posts
Hi guys , this is a message from the Netherlands , I shoot for almost 20 years now an Colt 1911 A1 from the second WW2 witch was send to the USSR in the war by the USA and was later sold to a West German gun company when the iron curtain fell .