Ruger Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
1,572 Posts
I have no experience with lead build up in a 22 bore. But every now and again you hear of it. My question is. I shoot CCI SV a Lot and have recently switched to Federal Auto Match these two have a lubed lead bullet. I have also shot a lot of bulk federal 550 with the copper coating on them. I never shoot Remington. The lead bullets with out the coating on them, as anyone heard of them leading up a barrel ? I like the lesser velocity stuff for accuracy or is the copper coated best ?

Thanks

·
Registered
673 Posts
I haven't had any leading issues with the ammo you've listed above, shot through my 10/22, MKIII's, and any other .22lr firearm I own.

The only ammo that leaded up a bore was Remington Thunderbolt LRN. Within a few mags, rounds were keyholing on target. I cleaned it using solvent, a tornado brush, patches, another solvent pass, a regular phosphor bronze brush pass, then patches.

·
Registered
4,978 Posts
Both the copper washed and the lead 22LRs will lead up a barrel. The copper washing on 22LR HV bullets is not equivalent to the copper plating found on centerfire or 22 mag bullets in terms of preventing leading. The thin copper wash on HV 22 LRs may help a bit, but it just isn't thick enough to do much in this regard, compared to copper plated bullets. Leading is a potential issue no matter what 22 LR ammo you shoot. Barrel quality can also have an effect on how quickly lead builds up.

Typically, though, it's the powder residue and a bit of leading that builds up in the chamber after a lot of shooting that starts to cause problems in rimfire shooting. When you start to have chambering and extraction problems, you know it's time to break out the cleaning rod or bore snake. Will happen no matter what 22 LR ammo you shoot, some a little quicker than others, but it will happen. Cheap ammo is typically the worst offender.

·
Registered
1,572 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·