Ruger Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
498 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey gang, apologies in advance for the blasphemy, but I'm looking at two S&W 686 357s. One is a Talo 3" and the other is a standard 686-6 w/ 4" barrel. I have no experience with a 3" 357, but I have fired the 4" quite a bit and love it. My brain says stay with the 4" I'm comfortable with, while my eyes love the Talo model. Not to mention it would be a tad easier to hide if I went that route.

The 4" was fairly soft with 357 loads, but I'm wondering how much recoil difference there is with the 3" gun. Any advice is appreciated. Thanks!

·
Registered
2,799 Posts
That's a real tough call, they are both so nice. I love my 4" GP100 and think it's perfect, but I sure feel the draw of a 3". It would be more concealable. Either way, I would go with the 7 round cylinder vs. the 6 round cylinder.

·
Registered
2,799 Posts
I can only compare to my 3" SP101, but that is lighter and not a good comparison. I would expect a little more felt recoil, but probably not terrible. It would be nice if you could rent both and test them out before you make a purchase.

·
Registered
249 Posts
I have the 4" and 2". There's a noticeable difference in the recoil between those two, but I don't know about the 3". It was so bad that I only shoot .38 out of the 2".

·
Registered
530 Posts
I have the Talo 3" 7 shot unfluted cylinder. I assume that is the one you are looking at. I absolutely love it! It is my favorite revolver. Its great for hiking and back packing, I don't even notice I am wearing it. It is also a fun range gun it is very accurate I don't think it is any less accurate than the 4". The trigger is CRISP nicest trigger I have on a revolver.

As far as accuracy and recoil go I find a big difference between 2" and 4" but not between 3" and 4". Recoil is not really bad at all If you are sensitive to recoil you can always shoot the .38s out of it. I have to say again I LOVE this revolver.