Ruger Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to reloading and have alot of cases of 38 and 357 I have speer 158 grain bullets and unique powder was looking for some reloading data

·
Registered
2,147 Posts
I'm new to reloading and have alot of cases of 38 and 357 I have speer 158 grain bullets and unique powder was looking for some reloading data
Specify your bullet type , in 158 gr. weight , Speer sells a soft swaged lead LSWC , LSWC-HP , LRN
And Jacketed bullets in TMJ-FN, UCHP, GDHP and UCSP .

The load data is very different between the Lead and Jacketed.

So ...whatcha got ... I've got 50 years of reloading Unique in 38 special and 357 magnum but the details are important in this hobby.

Speer makes a real good loading manual...I've been using them since 1970...get one .
Gary

·
Registered
326 Posts
gwpercle is right on. I was going to basically post what he did. If your 158 grain Speers are the soft swaged SWC's, I had several boxes of them some years back (90's) and you had to keep the fps down to light loads as they were terrible for leading the barrel up. My loads weren't even 'hot', below 1000 fps. They're just a 800 fps or so target bullet for 38 Special IMO. Work for that as long as you keep the loadings down. Never bought anymore, I could cast better 158 grain than them.

·
Registered
3,474 Posts
Speer is usually Allants data. Dont get your data off of threads. Alliant has an easy to use sight.

·
Premium Member
13,897 Posts
I will not use data from the internet. Reloading manuals only. I will get data online if it corroborates the date from manuals. It is amazing how much affect a tenth of grain can have one way or the other.

·
Registered
260 Posts