Ruger Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone,
I recently purchased a brand new rifle chambered in 375 ruger. And i'm having trouble finding any brass for it. I thought i had lucked out when i found some 375 ruger BASIC. I didn't realize what i was getting myself into. Bc the basic round is a blank piece of brass that i have have to form. Since i've never done anything like this before. I was wondering if anyone here had. Any and all information will be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
7,406 Posts
Here’s my method for fire forming::

1) Use a pistol powder, (Unique or Bullseye).

2) Prime and charge the case, fill to the top, dump and weigh the powder.

3) Reduce that weight to 10%, (50gr reduce it to 5gr, 40gr reduce it to 4gr).

4) Charge the case with the reduced load.

5) Stuff some TP on top of the charge.

6) Fill the case with DRY cream of wheat or oatmeal, (this is your filler)

7) Top it off with some more TP to keep the “filler” in place.

8) Chut it.

9) Run a patch down the the barrel every 3rd shot or so.

One firing should do the trick if not repeat.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Would (power pistol or universal) work? Or is there a specific reason you said (unique and bullseye)?

·
Registered
7,406 Posts
They’ll both work. Ideally the faster the burn on the powder the better.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Are you saying that my 2 powders burn slower? Should i increase the charge if they are?

·
Registered
7,406 Posts
Are you saying that my 2 powders burn slower? Should i increase the charge if they are?
They do burn a little slower......my source has Universal at #25 and PP at #32......Bullseye at #4 and Unique at #24. You’re still good, keep it at the 10% reduction though.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #7