Ruger Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
1,802 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm thinking of getting a 38 Super like I had back in the 70s. I was wondering...what is the better caliber, I know I can find 38 super ammo without too much problem and 10mm is almost non-existant down here.

·
Registered
36 Posts
Unless you reload, I think you answered your own question. I reload and shoot a bunch in both calibers and find the 38S more accurate. For stopping power, the 10mm is the hands down winner.

·
Premium Member
1,600 Posts
I would tend to agree with Funflyer on this one. I bought the .38 Super for no particular reason. Accurate and fun to shoot I would never sell it. I only started shooting .10 mm a couple years ago. Now I have three. I'm thinking you need both. I reload as well, hard to find components for anything these days. If you don't reload and find .38 Super ammo, there is your first purchase. :)

·
Registered
416 Posts
Another vote for 38 Super, only because I have one.

·
Registered
1,802 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Thanks guys. Now, is there another frame available for the 38 super besides the 1911 that is reliable and not too expensive?

·
Premium Member
4,288 Posts
Thanks guys. Now, is there another frame available for the 38 super besides the 1911 that is reliable and not too expensive?
Another platform? Yes, Sig P220. Reliable? Yes. Inexpensive? Nope. Rare as hen's teeth and the prices reflect it. I've been looking for one for years. When I do come across one for sale usually someone has beaten me to it or it's priced too high. I'll find one eventually.

I

·
Registered
942 Posts
38Super is a fun cartridge other then that and 10mm there is a Coonan 357mag that is even more interesting and ammo is more readily available.

·
Registered
36 Posts