Ruger Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
119 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a reloading newbie. I wanted to give it a try before investing, so I started with the Lee Loader. Yes, the one you use a hammer with. I'm enjoying it and will be advancing soon as the Lee Loader is quite slow, but was a good way to learn.

I have been loading for .44 Special and Magnum using a 240gr. LSWC bullet and CCI 300 primers. Powders are Unique and 2400. No problems with the loads I put through my Model 29-2. I experimented with different charges, avoiding anything too hot.

I liked the caliber so much, I added a (new) workhorse Ruger Super Blackhawk, which I plan to shoot more and try heavier loads.

The Ruger exposed the problem. Magnum cartridges that easily slip into the Smith chambers are tight on the Ruger. Some I would have to force in, which of course, I do not do. With the Specials, it does not happen. They fit into both guns with ease.

The brass I am using now came from factory loads, shot out of the Smith. The Ruger is new and I have not had a chance to see how a factory Magnum round fits.

I have read it may be a crimping, flaring or seating issue. But I tried the brass on it's own after sizing and had the same problem. Some, but not all, just don't fit right. Again, this is only with Magnum brass and cartridges, not Specials.

Any ideas why this may be happening and what I can do to fix it?

Cheers!

·
Banned
402 Posts
Your brass is not being sized properly ( enough ) a correctly sized case should fit in any chamber for that caliber. There are times when over crimping case bulge a case at the neck and cause the case to swell a little. I would rather think it's the tool your using or not using to it's full Re-sizing potential.
You must have some free space between the brass and the chamber or you will spike pressures and could have a bad day.

·
Registered
1,080 Posts