Ruger Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
6,614 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everybody, I'm planning to go to the range this Saturday and shoot my new SR1911 and I had two ammo questions I need you're feedback on.

This is my first outing with an auto-loader. My background is all S/A and D/A revolvers, so if my questions sound strange, that's why, I am a rookie in this arena...:eek:

1) I bought 200 rounds of Federal Champion 230 gr. FMJ. What are your feelings about this ammo for target shooting purposes? I paid $29.00 per 100 rds. at the local Wal Mart here. I thought that was a pretty decent price...

2) is it not good for the spring mechanism in a magazine to remain loaded for long periods of time? Say like keep a couple of magazines loaded and on hand as in a home defense scenario?

I'd appreciate your feedback...:)

·
Registered
530 Posts
I have been told (but don't have any facts to back it up) that spring tension doesn't weaken under compression. It weakens under movements. I don't know if its true or not so i rotate mine as well a few loaded a few unloaded.

·
Registered
1,607 Posts
The Federal ammo works good in my Colt & I don't think it hurts to have loaded mags for extended periods of time in my experience

·
Registered
1,981 Posts
I have heard the same about spring tension, it is the repeated loading/unloading that weakens them.

As far as Federal Champion ammo...it has been all I have used in 9mm with only a couple of boxes of Tula and WWB. I have never had any issues with the Federal ever.

·
Registered
1,333 Posts
That ammo shoots well in my SR1911. It's as accurate as anything else I've tried. From some previous posts on mag springs it should'nt hurt them to leave them loaded. The flexing is what weakens them.

·
Double P90 Shooter
19,887 Posts
The Federal works good in all my .45 autos and yes the loading and unloading of the magazines will weaken the spring metal.Leaving them loaded will not do any damage...

·
Registered