Ruger Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Have a few ruger flat tops in 44special and 1 in 45colt/45acp.
All have 4 5/8's or longer barrels.
I do reload.
Have a wiley clapp carry hawk on the way. Still a 4 5/8s barrel.

Kinda lusting after a 0475 Bisley convertible with a 3.75 barrel. Found one at a steep price. Lipsey said more are on the way.

Is the 45colt and 45acp useful in that 3.75 barrel? Performance wise?

·
Registered
450 Posts
I’m not an expert, but in my mind it depends on what you’re doing with it. I certainly wouldn’t use it for a hunting gun, but I wouldn’t use a 4 5/8” for that either. If it’s a carry gun, I’d say it would be useful. I know I wouldn’t want to be in front of it.

Reactions: sandog

·
Registered
9 Posts
I have a pair of birdshead .45’s in that length. They carry nicely and shoot just fine. As for useful, as stated, not for hunting, but for carry and for fun they are very useful!

·
Registered
2,142 Posts
Ballistically, you won't be at a big disadvantage with a really short barrel, velocity loss will be minimal.
It will be harder to shoot well with the short sight radius.
I'm not a fan of short barrels on big guns, they tend to look goofy and have poorer balance.
On a rather large revolver like the Blackhawks, I prefer a 5 1/2" barrel minimum.
Even a 4 5/8" looks stubby to me.

For that matter, I'm not a fan of Birdshead grips or shopkeeper models, but some like them.
As far as a short barreled Bisley, I think that would really look goofy having a stubby barrel on a long gripped big frame target revolver. Pretty out of proportion.
If I want a hideout gun I'll stick with my .45 ACP Shield.
But it's your money, and if it floats your boat …….

·
Registered
4,924 Posts