Ruger Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
79 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings, all - and I'm a relative newbie, so excuse my ignorance :)

I've been seeing a lot of Hornady ads on YouTube regarding 6mm ARC (Advanced Rifle Cartridge) ; as I understand it, this is designed for the AR-15 and has been adopted by some part of the US military.

Quite a few 6 and 6.5 cartridges available: 6 ARC, 6 Creedmoor, 6 PPC, 6.5 Grendel, 6.5 Creedmoor, 6.5 PRC, etc

Do you think there will be too many? Will Ruger, Smith&Wesson, Savage, Daniel Defense and other manufacturers want to build platforms around all these new cartridges?

·
Registered
5,592 Posts
Will Ruger, Smith&Wesson, Savage, Daniel Defense and other manufacturers want to build platforms around all these new cartridges?
The 6 ARC, from what I’ve read about, sounds like the perfect intermediate cartridge. I see it preforming close to a .308 and better than a .223 ballistically. It could prove to be an excellent target and medium size game cartridge. That said, if there’s a demand for them I can’t see why any of the companies you listed wouldn’t jump in and test the waters. JMO

Reactions: Lukey

·
Registered
64 Posts
It does look intriguing in that I would just need a barrel and bolt or BCG to set one up, possibly magazine as well.

Not much different than I did for .458 SOCOM.

·
Cat Herder
1,625 Posts
I'm not sure what it has over a Grendel. I would call the 6.5 Grendel the intermediate between 223 and 308, in terms of diameter and power. The 6mm ARC is slightly faster and slightly flatter than the Grendel, but not by much, and the Grendel has 20% more mass and a 17% larger cross sectional area.

The 6mm ARC will have tough competition in the AR platform- it isn't straight walled (350 Legend, 450 Bushmaster), it will be some time before cheap ammo is available (223, 300, 6.5 Grendel steel case), and it doesn't look like subsonic will be a thing with it (like 300 Blackout).

·
Registered
5,592 Posts