Ruger Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,

I'm a new SR9 owner and I'm looking for a good deal on quality ammo for personal/home defense.

After doing some research, I've read good things on Federal 147gr HST JHP, and I've found a 1000 Round case on bulkammo.com for $575. Is this a good deal? Is there better defensive ammo available for cheaper elsewhere?

1000 Rounds of Bulk 9mm Ammo by Federal - 147gr JHP

Thank you for your advice!
Da5id

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the reply Brandon04GT! I'm pretty new to this, I hadn't seen that site before.

So the deal to beat is $490 for 1000 Rounds of Federal 147gr JHP. :)

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Larry gets points for effort, but I'm looking for in stock deals only! Thank you Larry!

·
JarheadLifer
318 Posts
I would save some money and buy 115gr FMJ rounds for shooting paper. You don't need that many HP rounds unless maybe your trying to take over Cuba or something. I have about 300 rounds of HP's on hand to load for defensive purposes.

·
Banned
29,619 Posts
Sounds like a good deal. I have never been enamored of the 147 grain hp unless for use when very deep penetration is needed much more than I want in a home defense situation.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #11
You don't need that many HP rounds unless maybe your trying to take over Cuba or something.
:D I hear Cuba is nice this time of year.

I do have a supply of cheap 115gr FMJ for use at the range. I am looking to have a stockpile of decent HP ammo on hand though.

·
Banned
650 Posts
It really depends on where you live. If you live in an urban area you will be better served by spending extra money on a few boxes of hollow point ammo. You need a round that you can fire in good conscious. According to studies done by ER doctors hollow points don't exit the bad guys body and sometimes they fail to penetrate enough to reach vital organs.