Ruger Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
460 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Does my gun have to be registered to get a permit?
do they take my prints?

whats other hoops do you have to jump through to obtain a permit?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
295 Posts
NC requires

Brando: Sir; cannot speak for other states. NC you are printed when you apply for your CC permit. Thats it.
When we buy firearms we still have to fill out the paperwork and Serial numbers are written down by the seller.
The Paperwork including the Serial number is kept by the ?dealer? for ?life? It is not placed into any data base as of today.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
260 Posts
In TX, you get fingerprinted at the CHL class. Guns are not registered, you get an instant background check if you don't have the CHL already and you can walk out with the gun. We don't keep track of serial numbers here to the best of my knowledge. TX has pretty lenient weapons laws.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
842 Posts
Don't know about your state but in Ky, no registration or fingerprints, only a background check by the State Police. When taking the class, most instructors do check your weapon for safe functioning.
Baker
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,447 Posts
It varies by state, but the "HandgunLaw" site posted above will help you find your information.

Colorado is - no it doesn't require the registration of the specific gun.

Prints are taken by many states. On this one, Colorado does. :D
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
404 Posts
from http://oklahomaccw.org/


How do I get licensed to carry a concealed weapon?

1. The first step to getting a CCW is to discover if you are eligible. There are a few requirements and a few preclusions related to acquiring a a CCW. They may be found on pages 6-9 of the SDA Handbook. In general, a person 21 years of age or older with no serious criminal past or history of mental instability will qualify.
2. Look for an SDA class in your area. Call your local gun range or gun club to find out when and where the classes are held, and sign up. By law, the class must cost no more than $60 and take no more than about 8 hours to complete (Title 21 § 1290.14(E)). It will include safety instruction, a short written multiple-choice test, and some time on the firing range to demonstrate that you can handle a firearm safely. Bring your own gun and 50 rounds of store-bought ammunition for the range portion of the class.
3. Call the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation (OSBI) to request an SDA application packet (packets are free and include application and fingerprint cards). They have an automated hotline set up, so you can call anytime to leave a message with your address. You may want to request two applications, just in case you make a mistake on one of them. The number to call is 405.848.6724. Do not begin filling out your application(s) before you go to the class.
4. Go to your SDA class. It should be fun and interesting, and it is designed to accomodate people with all types of firearms experience. Though I would recommend at least one range trip with your gun before taking the class, it is not required. The class will also provide you with some necessary instruction on how to properly fill out your paperwork. At the end of the class, you will receive a certificate of completion to send in with your application.
5. Complete your application. Fill out the paper application, but do not sign it. Be 100% honest on your application - minor offenses (juvenile arrest, etc.) will only prevent you from getting your license if you fail to report them on the application. Next, get two passport photos of yourself and call your local sheriff's office to find out when you can bring in your SDA application. Take your application, passport photos, and blank fingerprint cards to the sherriff's office along with a $25.00 money order made out to "[Your County] County Sheriff" and a $100 money order made out to "OSBI". The sheriff or deputy will fingerprint you, witness your application signature, and receive your application.
6. Wait for your application to be proccessed. The sheriff will run a check for warrants and pass your application to the OSBI if you are 'clean'. The OSBI will confirm your application information, file and check your fingerprints, and pass your application to the FBI if you are 'clean'. The FBI will run a national background check to verify your application information. If all goes well, you will get a letter from the OSBI within three months instructing you to pick up your license at your sheriff's office (or, in Oklahoma County, the County Jail downtown). Take your driver's license with you (but not your gun) to the sheriff's office and they will issue your license. Congratulations!
 
1 - 7 of 7 Posts
Top