Ruger Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been loading for over 20 years and haven't seen this one yet.

I have several brass at home that have signs of gas "blow by" all the way to the head into the extraction grove as thought the necks are not expanding far enough to seal. Happens about 20% of the time.

This issue has occurred in a custom build .300 Win Mag and factory .30-06. I have used Nosler and Winchester brass in the .300 Win Mag and Remington in the .30-06. All brass are no more than their second firing and I full length resize in RCBS and Redding dies.

I use Hornady one shot lube and tumble my cases before and after all prep is complete. I have loaded hundreds of .308 for another rifle in the exact same way and have never had this problem with that firearm.

A can't figure out what I might be doing wrong. Any thoughts?

·
Registered
1,115 Posts
What do you mean by "full length resize". Do you screw your sizing die down to where it touches the shell holder? What powder and how much were in the case when this happen?
Need more information to give you a informed opinion of what is wrong if anything.

·
Registered
224 Posts
Yes, I'm wondering too about that full length resize..... personally, once a case is fire formed to a rifles chamber, I readjust the dies so that they just touch the shoulder, and then that brass spends it life only being reloaded for that specific rifle. You may well do the same, but thats my only thought here. I wouldnt go pushing that shoulder back every loading.

·
Registered
517 Posts
Chambers a bit on the large side for manufacturer tolerances? Resizing issues? Low pressure issues(powder charge on the low side)? Brass all the same headstamp? Like posted above, could use a little more info.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·