Ruger Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1

Hello everybody. I'm new to the gun world. What would be best for my wife(5 ft. tall, 115 pounds). Like me, she's a newbie. The gun would be for home/personal defense. Please advise as to caliber, semi auto or revolver and length of barrel. Many thanks

·
Super Moderator
16,330 Posts
Marty ... Welcome from a fellow Buckeye in SW Ohio ... Glad to have you aboard!

Regarding a gun for your wife, since there are so many variables in addition to height & weight, I would recommend that you find a reputable gun store in your area (one interested in your business for the long term) that will take the time to evaluate her needs, and who has a wide variety of guns that your wife can handle and rent/shoot if possible. If you care to share your general location, the Ohio contingent here may be able to assist with a referral.

·
Registered
5,349 Posts
welcome from nevada! i'm a relative newbie here, too-- just joined at the beginning of last summer. ultimately, it's going to boil down to what she's most comfortable handling, as a handgun she's not comfortable with isn't much of a defensive weapon. if it was me i'd rent an sr22, an lcp 380, and an lc9 (just sticking within the ruger family, don't you know) and see what fits her hand best, what recoil she's ok with, etc, and consider caliber from there.

·
Registered
5,332 Posts
+1. "Right-on, right-on"!

·
Ausmerican.
42,767 Posts
Welcome from Australia mate.
Glad to have you on board, nice folk here and lots of good info.

·
The Shooterologist
3,992 Posts
Welcome to the forum.

I would buy her something that I like, when she doesn't like it....I would have another gun. Keep doing this until she gets one she likes.:) Just kidding of course, I like Bucks advice!

·
Registered
2,957 Posts
First off welcome aboard from North Carolina,