Ruger Forum banner

1 - 20 of 83 Posts

·
Registered
108 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Do you ever feel 'under-gunned' because of the lack of ammo capacity? Do your revolvers feel chunkier and less comfortable? How many speed loaders do you carry? How do you carry yours (IWB, ankle, pocket)? Anything else I should know?

See I'm pretty new to handguns; I purchased my first pistol in March '12, an SR22, so I could shoot on the cheap and go with friends to our local indoor range. Shortly after I found myself taking the gun with me in the glovebox, and from there got more and more interested in CC'ing.

As of this instant I now have two handguns, both .22s, the aforementioned SR22, and my grandpa's old truck gun - an H&R Model 929 'sidekick'. I was never really interested in revolvers until I got his, and I've kinda fell in love with them. That and I made the mistake of holding an LCR while window shopping one day. It felt amazing in my hand and my mind keeps wandering back to it.

I am currently waiting on my CCDW License to arrive and am starting to shop around much more aggressively for a new carry gun. To this point pretty much the only thing I am fairly certain about is I want something in 9mm or .38 sp (semiauto & revolver respectively). Several friends of mine carry .40 and hotter loads and I just do not enjoy shooting them, or their higher ammo costs.

I am of the opinion that reliability between a GOOD semi-auto (Sigs/Glocks etc) and a revolver are pretty close to a wash, still advantage Revolver though.

I love the thought of the LCRs size/weight and feel in hand, as well as the ease of use under stress; aim and squeeze the trigger, no safety to fumble with, no jamming, and the ability to contact shoot - which is a disgusting thought in itself, but you never know :/