Ruger Forum banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
129 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi all,

In my rebuild of an old 1022, I used a fluted, threaded 16.5" barrel from Pike Arms and have been experimenting with various sight options.

I saw a post a few days ago, I think from "Slick guns", advertising the Aimshot HG PRO with green cross hair reticle. The price was amazingly low (less than 1/2 the price on Aimshot's web site. Advertised battery life is either 6,000 or 2,000 hours depending on the ad or paperwork that came with the sight, so I will plan on 2,000 hours. So I ordered it and it showed up yesterday.

I have had zero experience with this kind of sight in the past, and was surprised at how BIG this thing is. The weight is about 10.5 ounces- about the same as a fully loaded TriMag with 30 bullets.

The sight latches onto your rail with a swing arm latch, and if you buy one be sure that you have an extended length Picatinny rail. The latch arm can easily interfere with your access to the bolt handle. It has to be mounted way back, or way forward, to keep from snagging your finger on the latch as you try to manipulate the bolt handle.

Those who are familiar with reflex sights already know that the field of view through these is huge, and I like that aspect. With this brand, the cross hairs are clearly defined, but fairly thick. The light intensity of the reticle is adjustable over 6 settings.

The other characteristic that I like, making the size and weight justified, is the extreme heavy duty, waterproof build. It is hard to imagine even a hammer blow damaging this sight.

I clicked on the Rugerforums ad and wound up on the purchase page on Amazon and placed my order. The sight arrived within two days. The sale price was $100. and change, and the price is more than twice that on the Aimshot web site.