Ruger Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
135 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been using alliant 2400 for my 158gr 357 loads. but I can't find it know. So I can get 8lbs of 300-mp but I've never used it before. with the 2400 there is a large range from min to max load data. the few reloading books that I have does not list the 300-mp powder. the alliant web site only the max load for 158gr bullet. has any used this powder {300-mp} yet? I guess it is a fairly new powder. any info that you could give would be nice to have. thanks for the help. TOMD1943

·
Registered
420 Posts
I don't know anything about this powder. When I was forced to find a replacement for Unique when I couldn't find any my LGS recommended CFE Pistol. I went to the distributer's website and got the reload info I needed.

·
Registered
490 Posts
I have used the 300-MP in the 357 mag. I really do like it. It is similar to Winchester 296 both in burning rate and load data. I have used it in JSP and JHP for both 125 grain and 158 grain loads. It is a slow burning powder and should be treated as such as slow is not good for everything. I started at 10% below the max listed by Alliant and worked up some until I had primers showing pressure signs. I am shooting it mostly in a Ruger GP100 with a 6" barrel. I am skeptical of the extremely high velocities listed on the Alliant web site. However, I will say that it definitely yields a high velocity load. :) The 125 grain jacketed loads shoot lower than any of my SWC loads that are listed at 1400 fps. Fast 125 grain loads usually shoot lower, I have read, because their speed gets them out of the barrel before recoil moves the point of impact up. I don't know. The 300-MP loads are accurate. The 158 JHP loads are serious Magnum loads and have the recoil and blast to prove it. :) When they are shot into 1 gal milk jugs filled with water it is apparent they are moving on. :D