Ruger Forum banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Its getting hard to come by around here, the guy that did the transfer of my rifle said he had a few boxes of 500 to sell me at about 37.00 a box, he said that it was the ammo made in Mexico which was the best because they had the most accurate up to date equipment. He didnt have it their in the store but at his house so I need to go back and get it when he brings it in.

He also told me that it was from the early 2000s ( unless I misunderstood )

Alot of people nowadays are looking for a way to stick it up anyones *** so I googled shelf life of ammunition and it said 10 years but can be more.

Its 22 rounds, cant remember the manufacturer. He said it was special ammo used for target practice, I guess its made in batches to a higher level of quality? I dont care about that since Im not a pro but its all Ive found avail in a large quantity of 500 per box.

Guy seems super decent but I have to ask, is he trying to stiff me? Is there a date on the box of the ammo that I need to check?

Thanks

·
Grand Inquisitor
1,713 Posts
I shot off dozens of .22 lr rounds labeled Sears Roebuck on the box, from the late 60s. Stored in a humid building, too.

They keep fine unless they get wet and begin to corrode. The ammo you mention should be good.

Glad, however, that I reload all my centerfire rounds.

·
Registered
282 Posts
I shot some 30+ year old cci stingers recently. All went off no problem.

·
Registered
26 Posts
I have a crap ton of cheap, non-brand, 7.62x39 from about 1993 that is my emergency backup ammo. Hopefully that goes bang when it needs to!

·
Registered
1,591 Posts
It's Aguila ammo, decent stuff and possibly worth the price. I've used 40+ year old .22 ammo with no issues. Kept out of heat and high humidity it's fine.

Jeff

Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk

·
Registered
461 Posts