Ruger Forum banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
725 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am 39 and was diagnosed with diabetes a few years ago. I am on metformin100 mg twice a day and insulin 55cc twice a day. I am not very good at taking care of myself. My vision is starting to get blurry and I feel real tired in the afternoon. I work two jobs and I know I need to join a gym. I just don't have the time to work out. It also doesnt help that I am addicted to unhealthy food/sweets. My wife doesn't help much.

Those of you who manage it, how have you been successful?

·
Registered
177 Posts
Brother you have my empathy. I was diagnosed one year ago last April with a fasting glucose of 514. Same symptoms, blurry vision, constant thirst and fatigue. I weighed 335lbs and had a 54" waist.

My best advice...start with small goals and remember any adjustments you make for 30 days straight will become a good habit.

#1. Lay off soda and sugary drinks....including diet drinks w/ artificial sweeteners. They leave you unsatisfied and craving more sweets. Drink copious amounts of water and if you need flavor, check out Mio water enhancer.

#2. If in doubt, go with protein. It metabolizes slower making you feel full longer and provides a more stable source of energy. Try to get at least 40% of your food calories from protein...chicken and fish preferably.

#3. Never let yourself get hungry. Divide up your meals into 5 or 6 instead of 3. Once you get hungry you will most likely overeat.

#4. Find foods that you like that are also healthy...this can be tricky. Do some research and be prepared for frustration until your menu develops. Healthy Recipes, Healthy Eating, Healthy Cooking | Eating Well has some great ideas for everything from sandwiches to entrees.

#5. Remember this is about lifestyle change...not dieting. Diets are a fad and as soon as you go off you will end up in the same boat.