Ruger Forum banner

1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
1,193 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Last spring I took a camping trip with my brother and a couple of his old Army buddies. One of them introduced me to the art of pipe smoking while we sat around the campfire. As a parting gift, he gave a a Hardcastle's pipe which I've smoked on occasion ever since. It's a toasty 40 degrees out today (toasty compared to the below-zero temperatures we've been experiencing), so I decided to sit out on the deck, watch the snow melt, and enjoy a pipe. Just wondering how many of you smoke pipe tobacco. It's one of my favorite ways to take some time to relax now.

·
Registered
2,105 Posts
My grandpa used to smoke a pipe, but I don't. I do enjoy the occasional stogie though.

·
Registered
998 Posts
I no longer smoke my pipes (I'm a welder by trade) but I still have a decent collection of various pipes from several different manufacturers around the world. One of my favorites was an Italian Radice brand pipe, hand carved from pearwood. I can still smell that Borkum Riff burning in my imagination. Unlike cigarettes or cigars, pipe smoke actually smells good and usually won't offend the non-smoker. If I were to do as you did, it would revive my "habit" which my wife wouldn't be too happy about! The temptation will always be there though! I'm glad to hear that you can enjoy a pipe once in awhile, without the tobacco addiction taking control. The younger folks enjoy pipes of a different variety that usually includes illegal substances, they have no appreciation for the fine art of tobacco pipe smoking, which I believe sadly, may be going the way of the dinosaur.

·
Registered
728 Posts
Inhave a few pipes and greatly enjoy it. I don't do it a ton, just because pipe tobacco doesn't keep for very long very easily. I definitely enjoy it though.