Ruger Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
We have had CCW in Ohio for 11 years now, and I have had my CCW all 11 years. Unfortunately for me, I work in great big CPZ (Criminal Protection Zone; PC term:Gun Free Zone). Something happened recently and I've never missed my sidearm like I did at that time. It totally sucked that I was unarmed. You will see in my profile if you look that I am a Security Officer. But, guess what? Again unarmed. Anyone else have any stories from working in a CPZ?

·
Registered
8,193 Posts
I work at a VA Hospital, so yeah, I know you feel. Thankfully, there are two Police officers on duty to protect us.

·
Registered
5,246 Posts
I work for an educational institution. They even have an exemption from the state law that allows firearms in your vehicle if they are locked up and out of sight.

So I am not supposed to have a firearm in my truck when I live 10 miles from here and the gun club I belong to is a mile from here on my way home. But if I want to stop and shoot after work, I am supposed to make a 19 mile round trip to go home, get a gun, and come back to the range. Or, if I need to go somewhere else after work, I am supposed to drive home, get my carry gun and then go on to my destination.

Gun free zone is another phrase for, "Come shoot me, I'm stupid!"

·
Registered
3,584 Posts
Yeah. I went from working at a shooting range where I was armed everyday for 7 years to the school system. I feel nude at work now!

·
Registered
6,243 Posts
A few of the places where I work have the "we protect criminals" sticker on the doors. I won't say that I ignore them, but I find that my vision is often a bit blurry when I get to the door.

I keep my pistol in my briefcase, which is secured in my office when it's not at my side. It's not the ideal situation, but it's a fair compromise, for me.