Ruger Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
658 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First off, I'm brand new to AR's period. Never had one til recently. I read about the 556's accuracy and accuracy in general with an AR. However with the platform itself and shorter barrel it would seem not to really be a tack driver. Not that it was designed to be, don't get me wrong, just wondering what one could reasonably expect with accuracy as related to an AR, say 100 yards.

·
Registered
1,607 Posts
I don't know much about ARs I've shot them but never owned one. I do know that barrel length affects velocity but short barrel should be just as if not more accurate.

·
Registered
1,407 Posts
Take away external factors like wind and with the right scope, you can easily shoot 1 inch groups at 100 yards with an AR Carbine (bench rest).

·
/Brownster/Blk Dynamite
1,128 Posts
Take away external factors like wind and with the right scope, you can easily shoot 1 inch groups at 100 yards with an AR Carbine (bench rest).
This^^^^

Twist rate and bullet weight can have an effect as well.

·
Registered
658 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Hitting m.o.a. would be a bonus with this. From what I understand the 1:9 twist rate on the 556 is better to stabilize the smaller grain, and will have some drop off in accuracy of the heavier grain, correct? Also from reading, shoot brass and try to avoid steel casings?

Do have a scope mounted (only 4x) on this but have just installed it, not even sighted in yet. All shooting to date has been open sight, not exactly conducive to accuracy at that distance.

·
Registered
530 Posts
People at guns shops like to say effective rage of the ar-15 is 200 yards but consider this the marine corps shoots its last stage of fire at rifle qual with the m-16 at 500 yards.