Ruger Forum banner

1 - 20 of 68 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to reloading (have not started to reload for my AR yet...) but wanted to know if those who reload for their AR separate the .223 labeled brass from the 5.56 brass or do you reload them mixed....???? May be a dumb question but just thought I would check in with the experienced hand loaders on the forum about this possibly minor issue.

Also does anyone use the Lee Ram Swage on their press? Looking for a brief product review... THANKS as always.

·
Registered
648 Posts
I am new to reloading (have not started to reload for my AR yet...) but wanted to know if those who reload for their AR separate the .223 labeled brass from the 5.56 brass or do you reload them mixed....???? May be a dumb question but just thought I would check in with the experienced hand loaders on the forum about this possibly minor issue.

Also does anyone use the Lee Ram Swage on their press? Looking for a brief product review... THANKS as always.
You don't need to separate the two unless you fire an AR and a bolt action. You'll generally want to keep the brass you fire in each weapon separate. You'll most likely full size your AR loads and have the option to neck size your bolt action loads and you won't want to mix your neck sized brass with your full sized brass.

I have an initial batch of fired brass from my ARs that used 223 and 5.56 and I use them in my AR only. I don't separate any of that brass.

·
Registered
7,568 Posts
There may be a 1% case volume difference between a .233 and a 5.56 case and there may be a 1% case volume difference between two different .223 cases. In other words it doesn’t matter. Once you load a 5.56 case using .223 data it’s no longer a 5.56. Just make sure you bust the crimp out of the P/P on the 5.56 prior to seating a primer or there’ll be a lot of head scratching going on.

·
Registered
3,982 Posts