Ruger Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
96 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The wife and I both have LCP's. I have been carrying mine for 3 years, hers has sat in the safe since buying it almost 2 years ago. I go out shooting weekly, but she's only put 12 rounds through hers. She recently bought a new IWB holster and wants to start shooting and CC, so her primary reason is for self defense. So as a new SD shooter, is it better to get her started by aiming for the bulls eye, or is it better to get her started by simply making hits in the center mass? I would think the latter, but would like to hear your thoughts.

·
Registered
1,815 Posts
I would make sure she totally understands the function of the weapon first, and make sure she has all the basics covered (proper stance, hold, etc), and put a target 5' in front of her. As you mentioned, concentrate on putting one shot center mass first. I normally put my weapon at about waist height and draw it up and fire one shot and repeat. As she gets more proficient, move the target back, and maybe fire two shots with the second as fast as possible with center mass accuracy.
She should be able to get shots on target at 5' and will begin to gain confidence.
Have fun and be safe.

·
Registered
258 Posts
I agree with Hinter49, start close to build her confidence then back up. Shooting is always more fun when you hit the target/bullseye so maybe she will enjoy it and start shooting more than 2 magazines.

·
Registered
9,231 Posts
When I got my wife shooting I told her I wasn't worried about "center hits", I was more concerned about her handling and overall shooting of the gun. The accuracy will come with time and practice ...

·
Registered
1,000 Posts