Ruger Forum banner

1 - 20 of 49 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone
I hope you all are doing great I 've got a question I was thinking on getting a 41 Blackhawk at the same time I like the Uberti 45 hombre or the Traditions rawhide also in the 45 cal and there is a cimarron called the Big Iron I like I understand that the bullets for the 41 mag are little costly but I do reload any help I would be very greatfull
Thanks
jim

·
Registered
1,046 Posts
41 magnum is a great round,,I've been reloading it for 40+ years now...my Ruger Blackhawk was made in 1972, the year before I bought it..great gun, you can't beat it..I love the 41 magnum round...I use Trailboss poweder for a lot of my shooting because it makes for an easier round to handle just for general shooting..

Now, I also have a Uberti in 45 long colt, I really like it as well, and frankly, those rounds are almost as costly as 41s..so be prepared to reload for them too...again, Trailboss is a great powder for the 45 Colt.

If you ar enot wanting to reload, consider a Ruger or Uberti in 357 Magnum, ammunition is readily available, you can shoot 357 or 38 specials and it's not real expensive...

·
Registered
1,046 Posts
I order my just shooting bullets from Missouri Bullet Company...hunting rounds are generally Hornady XTPs...

·
Registered
1,482 Posts
41 magnum is a great round,,I've been reloading it for 40+ years now...my Ruger Blackhawk was made in 1972, the year before I bought it..great gun, you can't beat it..I love the 41 magnum round...I use Trailboss poweder for a lot of my shooting because it makes for an easier round to handle just for general shooting..<snip>
Since 41 Magnum is typically in a large gun, use of Trailboss to tame the caliber is not something I would do. The cartridge doesn't really have a niche without either being magnum performance in a big gun or tamed somewhat in some smaller 5-shot, one of which doesn't come to mind.