Ruger Forum banner

1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
148 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have an opportunity to buy a used Blackhawk in 45 LC for about 435 dollars
appears to be made late seventies, early eighties
I really would like to buy this gun, but I have two questions for more experienced SA folks:

What is the 45 LC round like? Compared say to .357?
Is it too expensive nowadays?

I know I am a newbie and I appreciate your help

·
Registered
383 Posts
The .45 Colt (technically there is no such thing as a .45 long Colt) is a fantastic round. Loaded as a cowboy round it is great for target shooting and plinking. The more powerful rounds are great for hunting. If you are a reloader, the .45 Colt is very versatile. There is also a great variety of factory ammo, but it is rather pricey. I have 4 Ruger Blackhawks in .45 Colt and love them all. I could almost say the exact same things about the .357 magnum. One good thing about the .357 magnum is that you can usually find less expensive.38 special for target and plinking. Hope this helps.

·
Registered
760 Posts
I know right now I want another new set of "twins" in 45LC for the Single Action Shooting. Right now I have a set of twins in 357 magnum in 4 5/8" but I want the 45s to be 5 1/2".

·
Registered
1,607 Posts
The .45 Colt (technically there is no such thing as a .45 long Colt) is a fantastic round. Loaded as a cowboy round it is great for target shooting and plinking. The more powerful rounds are great for hunting. If you are a reloader, the .45 Colt is very versatile. There is also a great variety of factory ammo, but it is rather pricey. I have 4 Ruger Blackhawks in .45 Colt and love them all. I could almost say the exact same things about the .357 magnum. One good thing about the .357 magnum is that you can usually find less expensive.38 special for target and plinking. Hope this helps.
+1

·
Registered
148 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
very helpful many thanks

·
too great for words
661 Posts