Ruger Forum banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
327 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
ETA: Disregard the Promag question. OEM Ruger is the way to go, via google searching and the thread like two spots down, here.

Yeah, it may seem like nothing, to many... I'm so stoked by this. Traded a local guy who was trying to sell, but he liked one of my rifles so we traded. A 188, which I understand is good. Two mags with it, and I'll be getting some more. I normally avoid Promag like the plague, but are they alright for the Mini? I'm totally new to this platform, and I'm excited to start learning, watching, reading up on this weapon system. It's just so cool.

This gun is never going anywhere by my choice. It's THE Mini-14 I always wanted. Walnut stock, not the black synthetic, and simple irons, Just love it. It points so intuitively and so well, and it's not long and cumbersome like bigger rifles with LOP that make them uncomfortable. This thing is so cool. It's like my poor man's M1A LOL It seems BEEFY as hell, too. Like it CLUNKS when you rack it, which means it's solid. I never realized how stout these things are. I didn't expect them to be delicate wallflowers, but holy crap.

I understand you can shoot 5.56 NATO in these without major issue, unless Target model.

Thanks for reading. If anyone wants to share their wisdom and Mini-14 experiences that help a noob to it, please do. Not new to guns at all, but definitely new to this rifle, and it's just Rad. Ruger is taking over my collection, again... :)

·
Registered
Mk II, Wrangler, LCPII .22 LR, EC9S, Security 9, P-85, RAR .17 HMR + .22 LR, + 10/22 Sporter
1,966 Posts
ETA: Disregard the Promag question. OEM Ruger is the way to go, via google searching and the thread like two spots down, here.