Ruger Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This thread is in regards to possibly build a 10/22. I have questions as to if its economical, whats parts are needed to completey build one. If its a better idea to buy a base one and switch parts on it. I am no gun expert so I am asking for peoples expierences. I have bought the parts neccesary for an AR 15 and my friend put it together but I have Heard you can do the same for a ruger 10/22. If its not worth it i would like to know. Thank you

·
Registered
954 Posts
There are two paths to a custom 10/22; build from scratch (including an aftermarket receiver), or buy one off-the-shelf and substitute parts as you want, selling off the removed stock parts, and keeping the stock receiver. Selling the stock parts will offset some of the cost of the custom parts; of course, your total cost will depend upon the components you select.

It all depends on what you want to end up with; however, don't discount the potential in a stock rifle; a bit of work on a stock 10-22 can reap excellent results, at a significantly lower cost than an all-out custom build.

I can't offer first-hand specifics, though, as mine is stock with the exception of a Brimstone Tier 2 trigger job, which I think was money well spent. I've done a bit of work in bedding it and installing a home-made pillar for the takedown screw, which took minimal cost and few hours of my time.

·
"The Real Deal"
7,548 Posts