Ruger Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Former Hoadpiler
32,418 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a Bushmaster lower that didn't work out on my AR22 upper so am now wondering if I should buy a Bushmaster upper for it? We don't hear about Bushmaster a lot here. Any others have one?

·
Registered
4,164 Posts
I have had three AR's I kept my Bushmaster. It has the heavy barrel on it.

·
Registered
4,164 Posts
It is my understanding that all Bushmasters are commercial and not mil spec. I may be wrong though.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Bushmaster uses 4150 steel in their barrels, which is a grade higher than 4140, and 7075-T6 Aluminum alloy for their uppers and lowers, which is much tougher than the 6061-T6 which is generally considered to be milspec. In reality there is no such thing as "commercial Mil-Spec", for it to be "Mil-Spec" it has to be FOR the military. But getting back to the subject, just because something is called "Mil-Spec" doesn't mean it's a better product, it just means that a manufacturer has to make a product to at least that specification for the military to buy it; and remember: they almost always buy from the lowest bidder.

·
Registered
485 Posts
I just bought a used Bushmaster M4A2. The reason I didn't hesitate was because it's a Bushmaster. No, it's not a Colt, but still a quality built rifle. It's the same carbine model used by many LE agencies. I read recently that the company has been bought and will sell the AR's under the Windham Weaponry name. They are manufactured in Windham, Maine. I couldn't say anything negative for the purchase of another Bushmaster upper. Just remember the Bushmaster A2 is not a detachable handle. If you want sight options on a rail, get the A3 upper. Other AR manufacturers should be compatible as well.

·
Registered
530 Posts
Depends if you have a new Bushmaster or old. I have heard the new Remington Bushmasters have been changed around to only work with new Bushmaster parts and not compatible with other ar parts.