Ruger Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Alright, I am a little stumped.
A couple weeks ago my mini-14 started having trouble. When a round is chambered I cannot manually work the bolt. Which means I can only unload by firing!
I took it apart, cleaned it and it didn't make a difference. I am guessing something is bent or out of whack, but I am new to the mini-14 and can't on initial inspection find a part that seems out of true. I am going to take her apart again, any ideas?
Thanks!

·
Banned
4,564 Posts
Make sure you have the operating rod rear spring locator in the correct position.

·
Banned
4,564 Posts
You said "take it apart again" I just thought maybe something was mislocated. The part that will jam the slide is called the buffer guide rod. If it bevel is down instead of up is will restrict rear travel of the bolt.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I only took it apart the first time to see why the bolt wouldn't manually operate with a round chambered. It was my second time firing this particular rifle. After this first I just gave it a quick oiling and barrel cleaning. I'm not sure if it was misbehaving then as I never manually ejected a round.

·
Banned
1,641 Posts
When I got my Mini last month, I took it apart, cleaned it, lubed it and put it back together. What SR40Ken is saying, sounds like the same problem I had. When reassembling the recoil spring and guide rod, you want the flange of the end of the assembly to be closest to the barrel (up, if the rifle were right side up). I did it backwards and the bolt would only open a little way and was very rough. I had to essentially force the bolt closed by hitting the charging handle really hard with the palm of my hand and it would slam home.

Here's a screenshot from the Ruger video showing the correct orientation:

Assembled correctly, it should work smoothly and allow you to manipulate the bolt as you need to.