Ruger Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
1,347 Posts
I dunno'. I like to use tumblers, or vibrating case cleaners. I have never used chemicals to clean my cases, so I don't know if they are a good deal or not. I guess this is probably a "Whatever You Like" kinda' thing. :)

·
Registered
3,624 Posts
Probably not 100% necessary, but very nice to have. I have been using one I bought off of Midway for 15 years.

·
Registered
842 Posts
I think I'm in the minority here concerning tumblers. I reloaded for years without a tumbler, considering them a luxury rather than a necessity, just wiping the cases off with an old towel. Finally like gunman I bought one from Midway and used it at times and then my son gave me an almost new one from Hornaday. To be honest I only use them occasionally now, still wiping the cases off with that towel most of the time. Not as shiny or pretty as many like but they shoot just fine. When I do tumble cases I only run them about an hour. If they're not ready by then they gets loaded anyway.:)
Baker

·
Registered
197 Posts
I personally like nice, shiny cases when loading. I use Dillon's case cleaner in corn cob media. With that it only takes my Lyman about three hours to shine the brass up nice. I have read that a piece of hard grit or sand can scratch a carbide die, though it has never happened to me. But my Lyman is now 23 years old and one heck of a bargain.

·
Registered
540 Posts
Frankford Arsenal tumbler from Midway here, bout 1-1/2 hour with a couple shots of liquid Flitz or Frankford brass cleaner mixed in with corncob media leaves 'em shiny.

·
Registered
758 Posts
Lee says it is not necessary to tumble your brass. However, I hate tarnished or discolored brass so I use a Frankford vibrator and presto-chango, shiney brass!

If I have to use case lube I put em back in the media and give em another hour or so after they are loaded.

·
Premium Member
3,002 Posts