Ruger Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a newbie for sure so I hope it's ok posting about a non colt firearm.
Recently I was given a what appears to be a 1887 colt 45 frontier double action
6 shooter. It has the numbers #8345 on two separate parts of the gun. The first is on the butt end of the handle and them under the walnut grip. The only thing legible is the words 45 caliber and part of the word colt. It's missing the front sight, plunger has a very sloppy cylinder and the hammer won't stay caulked in the back position. One of the grips are missing a small part. So can anyone tell me how to authenticate it and what kind of value it may have? And lastly if its restored it will lose value . Why is that? Any help is appreciated thanks In advance....

·
Registered
381 Posts
Greetings,

Write a letter to Colt, and send pictures with the serial number. You can also contact some of the better known Colt collecters.

I recall the double action early Colt had a large trigger guard, and some called it the Alaskan model because of the large opening at the trigger. You could wear large gloves, and still get your finger on the trigger.

moondog911

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
For sure Moondog if I put gloves on it would still have room for another finger lol I appreciate the advice

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Well I wound up selling the Colt. Took it too a friend with an auction house here in LasVegas. Paid $450.00 well over its worth as it was in its present condition. Went out and picked up a bunch of ammo so I'm very pleased with the deal. Thanks again for the help moondog!

·
Banned
3,158 Posts
Any chance of posting some pics? You said it wasn't a Colt......if its a Merwin & Hulbert you've got something there!

·
Registered
947 Posts