Ruger Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
536 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i have had my nano since february, and was shooting each week and cleaning after each shooting. i can't afford lately to shoot and won't be able to till at least december or january. i last cleaned my nano in the middle of june, i noticed today a few places in the back that had lint inside. not bad but enough that i took a toothpick and got it out. i carry daily so do you think i should clean monthly or every 2-3 months? its been 3 months since i last broke it down to clean. thanks

·
Registered
5,246 Posts
I am not an expert, but if I were carrying it everyday, I would at least clean it monthly. A friend of mine cleans his carry gun once a week. Probably as many opinions on that as there are members on this forum.

·
Registered
930 Posts
You need to decide what is right for you. Yes there will be many different opinions on this topic.

For my carry weapon, I do try to clean it at least monthly, I want to make sure if I need it, the weapon will function.

There are time that life gets in the way and I might not make a range visit in a month, Sad but true, in those case I always clean at the end of the month. I hope I have been to the range at least once and maybe weekly on a good month.

You decide what is right and the environment you carry in. For me the summer is warmer and I carry IWB so there is more chance for moisture so I want to make sure my weapon is ready if needed.

Cleaning monthly works for me, you can decide what will work for you.

·
Registered
3,009 Posts
Cleaning it monthly would be a good idea. Shouldn't involve more than just a field strip with a rub down with a clean cloth and a light coat of lube.

·
Banned
650 Posts