Ruger Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Code Slinger
2,202 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I started this post as a reply to another topic and realized I was hijacking the thread, so I started a new thread...

I was talking to one of my friends who is an Atlanta Police officer about cocked and locked carry and the safetyless Glock, and he made the comment "I am a Firearms Instructor, and I am intimate with the internals, and realize its safe", he was referring to the Glock 27 IWB backup he was carrying.
I have grown up around firearms, and received my first .22 rifle before I turned 10. By 16, I had a 12ga pump shotgun, and several .22 rifles and pistols. Since then, I have had literally hundreds of firearms come in and out of my possession, and some of these guns would malfunction. I had a Stevens .12ga side-by-side shotgun that would fire both chambers upon closing the breach.
I began to think that to carry cocked and locked one has to be a little naive to the fact guns (and people) do malfunction! Some examples are posted here at rugerforum.net where we had a Full-Auto Glock to magazines that drop on firing. If guns always worked PERFECT and have NEVER had a malfunction, then I would see carrying cocked and locked safe.

The only exception where I carry Cocked & Locked is on a duty belt, where the firearm is held slightly away from the body and would reduce the chance of injury on accidental misfire.

What's your thoughts on cocked & locked?

·
Registered
2,438 Posts