Ruger Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a half dozen Rugers from Mach1 to KP 345DPR. I have nothing in the .40 SW caliber and have a opportunity to buy an unfired KP944 supposedly DC for $400. Haven't inspected the pistol, but will probably get to this week. Is the .40 SW a good round?

·
Registered
3,156 Posts
While i have no experience with the 944, i have shot my share of other 40 cal pistols, i can say that the 40 has become probably one of the most successfully introduced new rounds of the last century. It probably has the lion's share of the leo market and is here to stay.
Its a fence rider for sure, Less capacity than a 9mm, more capacity than a 45. Good reports of stopping power. The only negatives i have is the recoil is snappy---i find the 9mm or the 45 for that matter to be more controlable. Also i find the 9 and 45 to be generally more accurate---but thats me.

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the replies. I guess I will stick with my 345 and save my money and add a new SR9 to my collection. If there is such a pistol.

·
Registered
78 Posts
This link gives a good respected and well referenced artical on the 40. If you are looking for muzzle energy with expanding self defence rounds. And not just a plinking gun than a 40 is a wonderful cartridge. Accuracy and compactness of a 9 but generally around 500 ft/lbs of muzzle energy. That is stopping power and stings behind a vest. My KP944 deckocer is a wonderful pistol and I have never experienced any discomfort in shooting it. Too me it feels just like shooting a 9. But I have youth on my side and maybee with age the discomfort is more apearant. I have a .380, 9, .357, .357 sig, .40 and .45. And for me I choose my .380 or .40 for personal defense every time. And I have the numbers of many police departments switching to 40 on my side.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/.40_S&W

·
Registered
842 Posts