Ruger Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey I'm new to reloading. I'm Trying to load 9mm 115 Grain rounds for practice before i invest more money. The powder I have is HS6, according to what X-Treme says "Our Copper Plated Bullets can be run at mid-range jacketed velocities or higher end lead velocities. We recommend keeping velocities to less than 1500 FPS (Feet Per Second) and using only a light taper crimp" My Modern Reloading Second Edition has HS6 Lead 115 Grain starting at 6.4 and never exceed 6.9 with velocities at 1117 and 1170 respectively. Although my buddies Hornady Book has the max load for FMJ RN at 6.4 with HS6. So what would be a safe load? I'm just trying to be extra cautious, If 6.4 is the max for Jacketed how is Lead able to go to 6.9? When you go to Hodgdons website it only has data for GDHP and LRN. The LRN matches what my book has to say. How much do I load to start with a decent round? I don't want to go hot they will just be range ammo

·
Registered
453 Posts
Jacketed is harder and does not conform to the bore like lead.
Plated is softer than jacketed but harder than plain or coated lead.
The ones they say keep under 1,500 FPS are the hollow based ones which have thicker plating and meant to be driven somewhat faster.
Start at the minimum load and load 10 and then go up .1 or .2 grains of powder and load 10 more and do this till you reach close to max (not max yet).
Always check you charge weight, a little over is usually not bad but some powders have a very short range between min and max.
Once you find the sweet spot, functions well and is accurate work with length of loaded round to find the best length to use.
Never go under min length but a little longer may be better if it fits the magazine and chambers properly.
The reloading books have pretty good info but are set up to try to keep folks out of trouble with reloading.