Ruger Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm usually pretty serious about cleaning any firearm every time I shoot it, regardless of the number of rounds fired, and almost always I clean it that same day before putting it away. I've had a lot of experience over many years cleaning many kinds of firearms, including many years in the Army. But I think I messed up this time.

For reasons not relevant to this question I decided to see how long I could go without cleaning my GP100. I went to the range every day for about a week and ran over 500 rounds of various WC, SWC & RN lead .38 Special practice ammo through it, almost all double action and at high speed.

Each day I would wipe off the fouling on the outer surfaces with a dry rag, and there was a lot as this was pretty dirty ammo. I did not use any solvent and did not clean the bore or cylinder chambers at all. I quit shooting when the cylinder started getting a little harder to turn due to fouling buildup.

Then I cleaned it. The bore and the external surfaces cleaned up easily with Butches Bore Shine. So did most of the cylinder chambers, but the usual fouling build up in the chambers at the point where the case mouth reached were a bear to clean up.

In fact, after lots of elbow grease I still had enough of a crud ring that .357 rounds would not fit all the way into them without some force. So, I went at them again, this time with Hoppes and a .40 caliber bore brush and let the solvent sit in them overnight. Next day they were better but still not good enough, so I repeated this twice more. Some improvement each time but still lots of crud. Went back to a .38 caliber brush and cleaned again, twice, letting the solvent soak overnight.