1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
137 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
A few weeks ago I drilled & taped my old, but still like new standard auto
for a weaver rail. My thought was there is nothing to lose, it's not a rare
piece by any means.
Well I like it so much i'm thinking of doing the same thing to a mark ll.
The question being, am I going to devalue this or future mark ll's with d&t.
My work is good , I am a journeyman machinist, but am I taking away value.
Not that I need another scoped or reddotted handgun, but I am curious.

thank you Anita

·
Registered
78 Posts
if you are really worried then get a paclite upper. it is drilled and tapped and also threaded for silencers/suppressors. you can just put the old upper on it when you sell it (unless the buyer also wants the paclite). but i dont see much devauleation in drilling and tapping a mark2.

·
Ruger Tinkerer
11,898 Posts
I think generally speaking drilling and tapping a handgun frame does lessen the value regardless of the quality of the workmanship. Poor workmanship even more so. In this specific instance I can't say to what extent you would affect value. If it's not a rare or unusual piece in like new condition and you want to scope it I say why not. But that's just my opinion.....

·
Larry the Conservative
5,458 Posts
if you are really worried then get a paclite upper. it is drilled and tapped and also threaded for silencers/suppressors. you can just put the old upper on it when you sell it (unless the buyer also wants the paclite). but i dont see much devauleation in drilling and tapping a mark2.
X2 The paclite will give you a much better upper IMO.

·
Registered
137 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Not worried just looking for a consensus to base my plans on.
another upper is not in my future.
anita

·
Registered
342 Posts