Ruger Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
62 Posts
Howdy-
I've had one of these for a couple of years now- it is the BEST for removing the primer crimp from military brass, if you bought a lot of brass of all the same head stamp. The internal dimensions on mil brass vary somewhat, and have found enough variance between Lake City brass and other makers to require readjusting the primer pocket swager to suit the make of brass being worked with at the time- NOT a big deal to do, just don't think that you can have a batch of random head stamps all mixed together and have it do the same job on ALL of them. Aside from that, the device mounts to a bench securely, and the camming action of the device makes easy work of the job.
I know that RCBS makes a primer pocket swage that you use in a single stage reloading press, but I have no experience with it. I got the Dillon after asking around about how it worked, and, well heck, I live about a 20 minute drive from their place of business. They are always fast and courteous when I visit their retail area, and their "NO BS warranty" recreated the standard for the industry, it seems!
Where in west central FL are you? I was in St. Pete before moving west to AZ.

·
Larry the Conservative
5,458 Posts
I recently bought a second one so that I could have one for 223 and one for 308's. These are the only two calibers I need it for, but there's "nobody better" than Mr. Dillon.

Cue the 007 music theme. :D

·
Ironhat
287 Posts
The RCBS swager that cowboy spoke of is pure crap. They now have one that duplicates the original Dillon swage. I don't have any experience with the latter two mentioned.

·
Registered
521 Posts
The RCBS Primer Pocket Swager Combo is $30.00
Whereas the Dillon is $100

Maybe I just like my money more, but all Dillon stuff is grossly overpriced.

(I have a 550, but I bought it 2nd hand for $150.)
so I know of the quality, but still, dang their stuff is expensive.

·
Registered
965 Posts
Discussion Starter #7