Ruger Forum banner

1 - 20 of 58 Posts

·
Banned
108 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all -- total newbie so apologies in advance if this is a dumb question...

Just finished cleaning my LC9 after a visit to the range today and while cleaning was a success, I'm not sure what to do with all of this stuff soaked with Hoppe's No. 9? Is it safe to bag up and put in the trash? Do I need to somehow make it inert? I just don't want any fire from fumes...

Thanks!

Felix

·
Registered
1,806 Posts
Put it right in with the regular trash. The solvent will evaporate and so will the odor. I do dump mine in an out door trash so not to stink up the garage or basement.

·
Registered
5,504 Posts
I let the rags and patches air dry outdoors for a few hours and then dump them in the trash can.

·
Registered
947 Posts
If you feel safer making them inert, you can soak them for a while in a glass of warm water with a squirt of Dawn dishwashing liquid, then toss them out. It'll cut the smell of it too. I've always loved the smell of Hoppes #9...perfume to my nostrils.:D

·
Ausmerican.
42,767 Posts
All my cloths just get thrown straight into the outside garbage.

·
Registered
1,044 Posts
First, throw them into a zip lock sandwich bag to keep out the smell, and then into the trash.

·
Sr. Exec. Button Monkey
625 Posts

·
Double P90 Shooter
19,890 Posts
I clean in the garage and use an old dog food bag for misc. garbage and throw the patches in there.Then every time I go in the garage it smells like ...heaven... (ok maybe not heaven but it smells good)LOL

·
Banned
1,641 Posts
This is hilarious. I was recently working on an AR Lower Build and I painted my pictograms red and white. I had some paint film on the lower and so I got a rag good and wet with Hoppes and gave the whole thing a good scrubbing. Took that film right off and it looks better than new.