Ruger Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Premium Member
3,306 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
With my new PCC9 Model 19100 (shoots great) at the indoor range my ear muffs get in the way.
*I have trouble getting a good cheek weld.
*I use foam plugs too but I could never keep them in place.
*Muffs keep getting in the way can't get a good sight picture!
*I am going through various ear plugs now and testing different makes.
Is there anything out on the market for ear protection that may help?
I am using iron sights(fiber optic on front). May try to get a red dot down the road but for SHTF gun I want my iron sights.

·
Premium Member
3,306 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks Shootergranny..I have not tried some of those yet. I am having fun trying new plugs and I will look into some of these. Never tried the custom molded ear plugs. Thanks...

·
Registered
226 Posts
I have been using Otis Ear Shield for 4 years now. Mine are 31 NR. They will eliminate your problem. If you buy them. Understand that following the instruction for use is critical to performance. It is simple and critical. Some reviewers have panned them but in every case they clearly did not follow the instructions.

Bicycle part Rim Font Auto part Audio equipment

·
Registered
1,043 Posts

·
Super Moderator
4,839 Posts
Here is a discussion from a couple months ago for the same issue. Might be worth a read.

·
Registered
4,966 Posts
for rifle, I bought a set of the slim ear muffs that are designed for shotgun shooters. Much more compact than the Howard Leight active protection or the older passive protection muffs.

·
Registered
11,064 Posts
With my new PCC9 Model 19100 (shoots great) at the indoor range my ear muffs get in the way.
I am using iron sights(fiber optic on front). May try to get a red dot down the road but for SHTF gun I want my iron sights.
Rick ... i have the same issue, been looking at a set up that wrap around the back of my head, like the ones Hickcock45 uses in his videos

·
Registered