Ruger Forum banner

1 - 20 of 49 Posts

·
Registered
135 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a little new to concealed carry but have had years of experience shooting handguns. Nonetheless, I accidentally flashed my pocketgun at a friend who is gun-shy: We were camping, it was raining, and I crawled into the tent with my raingear on. As I contorted myself to shed the wet layer within the confines of the tent, my gun fell halfway out of my pocket, holster and all. I shoved it back in and kept on with the conversation we were having like nothing had happened, but a few minutes later they asked... Hey...? Are you carrying... a gun??? :O

I confessed I was, then we talked about it. It was very humbling because it showed a temporary lack of control with my gun. I now am very careful to choose pants that aren't too loose or too tight with my method of carry.

Anyone else have any stories?

·
Registered
505 Posts
When I have carried on my 5 o'clock owb, my sweatshirt covering has lifted up when reaching for a box on a top shelf at Walmart, but nobody was in the aisle. I just picked up a iwb holster for my P97, so I'll see how it works.

·
Registered
236 Posts
IWB holsters are fine, except that you have to buy new clothes to wear them (larger waist pants and belts)! Being retired and on a fixed income, that's not an option for me. I really like my Thunderwear deep concealment holster. It prevents accidental viewing, yet allows fairly quick access, should the unthinkable occur.

·
Forum Founder
3,639 Posts