Ruger Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to the handgun world. I just picked up a sp101 snub .357 mag. for defense of my family. Which ammo in either .38 or .357 do I want for home defense, don't have my cc yet, that will be the most effective. My knowledge of grains and brands are very limited, as well as the actual bullets makeup. Thanks in advance.

·
Premium Member
2,727 Posts
158 grain, hollow point, .38 Special +P... The +P is a faster burning powder that will give some added acceleration for the short barrel.

·
Registered
10,156 Posts
Buffalo Bore does make a good.38 Special load for short barrels might want to look. Also I like the Hornady Critical Defense .38 Special loadings as well good luck!!!

·
Registered
187 Posts
Agreed on the Buffalo Bore...designed for snubs with low recoil & low flash. A little pricey but worth it. Check out their semi-wadcutter versions. I have the SP101 2.25 357 just because I like both ammo options, but 357 from a snub doesn't take advantage of the full 357 power (and it beats you up a bit) :D

·
Registered
1,142 Posts
People will argue all day long about whether you should use 357 or 38 for CC but for HD, I think you should clearly opt for the 38. 357 is too much flash and bang indoors and will be easier for other family members to handle should it come to that. I'd recommend either Hornady 110gr 38+P or Speer 135gr 38+P.

·
Registered
1,262 Posts
158 grain, hollow point, .38 Special +P... The +P is a faster burning powder that will give some added acceleration for the short barrel.
This statement is not entirely true.
+P stands for +Pressure
Extra pressure rounds can be achieved using any powder, not just fast burning powders. +P designation signifies the loading is above the pressure range for standard SAAMI spec 38 Special cartriges and should only be used in modern revolvers where the manufacturer specifies the safe useage of +P designated loads.