Ruger Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
175 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been reloading the 45 colt for several years and bounce around on bullet weights, 200 grain, 230 grain, and 255 grain. The versatility is great, I have decided I need to settle on one bullet weight. Since I use it only for plinking I am leaning towards the 230 grain bullet. Was just wondering what the rest of you normally load in this caliber?

·
Corps Commander NGV
4,577 Posts
I have used 200, 230, and 250gr RNFP bullets in my .45 Colt loads. Best results have been with the 250gr projectiles.

·
Retired Moderator & Gunsmith
16,083 Posts
I'm with ngashooter .... my most accurate loads are Hornady 255gr LRNFT (cowboy). I also have excellent results with 250gr Hornady XTPs. Lighter bullets don't group as well but 250 gr plated or coated cast lead do quite well.

·
Registered
139 Posts
Since having the throats opened up and the forcing cone to 11 degrees my Bisley SBH with Hornady 255 grain SWC is a tack driver and zero leading.

·
Registered
414 Posts
Another fan of something in the 250 grain area. In general I find that I am happiest with bullet weights close to what the cartridge was originally designed/intended to use although I can be swayed toward 'heavy for caliber' in a few instances (like 147 grain for my 9mm).

Bruce

·
Registered
295 Posts
250's for me and RNFP in particular. :)

·
Registered
5,560 Posts
I've standardized as well. All my general .45 Colt shooting is done with the standard weight 250g RNFP. Works very well for me. My woods load uses a 255g SWC. With 44s (special and magnum) it is a 240g SWC. With .357s it is 158g SWC. I haven't shot any jacketed/plated bullets in many years now.

Reactions: 357duzzit

·
Registered
7 Posts
My favorite .45 LC bullet for over 45 years has been the 255-grain Lee RF. That said, today I shoot more of the 280 WFN bullet, both between 900-1000 fps, usually using Unique or Universal.

·
Registered
432 Posts