Ruger Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
5,349 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
so i took my 870 to the range yesterday for the first time and had a blast (pun intended). got to talking to the safety officer, and he told me that they recently approved a shotgun tracer shell made by fiocchi. apparently, fiocchi reps came to the range and demo-ed it, and it got approved by the range. can't seem to find them anywhere so far, either here in town or online. anybody else hear about these and/or where to get them? as a shotgun newbie, i can totally see where these could improve my performance in a big way.

·
Registered
1,130 Posts
I have several boxes of no. 8 12 guage shells loaded by Fiocchi with tracer wads, the boxes are stamped with a date from 1992 which means they could be older than me! The tracers never light on them, leading me to think they were stored improperly or just went dead with age, but i got them for $5 a box at the trading post, which means they are still good practice shells. I don't see much point to them, since you usually can see a shotgun wad in flight, and also the wad drops away from the shot column quickly and often spins off in a loop, so if the tracer was with the wad it might not be too helpful! But i could see how it would help improve instinctive shooting, like watching your arrow from a recurve.

·
Registered
5,349 Posts
Discussion Starter #3