Ruger Forum banner

Firefighter/EMS Roll Call

2K views 22 replies 9 participants last post by  Maddmax 
#1 ·
I notice there are many Firefighters/EMS providers on the forum.

I am a Volunteer FF/EMT-B in Nebraska, serving a 47 Square mile district near Omaha, we have a population of 3000+ with some major industry, lake communities, farmland, 2 rivers, major highways and RR lines. I have been on for 21 years,
I serve as the Dept. Treasurer and recently have found myself the oldest member. My son is the Asst. Chief, we have 45 members with 6 Paramedics.
I work for a major Agri-business company on a large campus, I serve on the EMR team and HAZMAT team there.
How about a little information about you and you're Dept?
Greg

Reactions: mark40
#3 ·
Started as a volunteer 40 years ago and became an EMT shortly thereafter. I got hired as a full time FF/EMT in our capitol city in 1983, retired in 2004. Officially I am still a volunteer/Safety Officer/Lieutenant but I consider that 'ceremonial' in nature. I am the oldest (but not longest serving) member of my home department.

"Being retired from the Fire Department means that I no longer have to interfere with natural selection!"

Bruce

#4 · (Edited)
Served as a volunteer firefighter for 25 years starting in my home town in 1976. Served as a Federal Firefighter for 23 years [retired 2014], and also as an adjunct State Fire Instructor for 7 yrs. teaching Firefighter Survival and FAST. Since then, have been working part-time as an EMT during the winter months at a resort property.

#5 ·
Well started as a volunteer 1994, did that 20 years with a few breaks. 3 stations 25 square miles probably 25k people. Started running 220 calls a year. When i left was running over 1k calls a year. Served as a firefighter, publicity chairman on the board and Captain.