Ruger Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Unlike many of you I didn’t grow up around guns during my youth. I shot several times up until my early teens, and owned a half way decent air rifle. Come Jr. High (20+ years ago) that was about the end of it until now.

I finally got my Mark III 22/45 Bull Barrel, and managed to find an indoor range about 30 minutes from me (farther than I want, but how can I wait it out for my next open weekend for my local range).

So from a TOTAL beginners view point I will give my range and product impressions.

Range Experience:

This was the first time I’ve ever been to a range by myself. I’ve had real positive experiences at my friend’s club, but this was a pubic indoor range at a gun shop. I’ve already come to the conclusion I should speed up my membership process at a local club.

1) As everyone here will know indoor ranges are much louder than outdoor ranges. I’ll need ear plugs in junction with head sets, or a much better head set.
2) This indoor range had an uneasy feeling about it. Lots of novices (I can’t complain about this, but I wasn’t surrounded by many people knowing what they were doing. I would have preferred to be in the minority with my skill set).
3) One guy was permitted (through special training) to exercise rapid fire. However, being there were too many novices quite a few others followed suit, and the Range marshal scolded a bunch of people.
4) I wanted to keep my targets for posterity, but with the front sight breaking loose every so often I couldn’t get in any sort of consistent shooting. So it was pointless (maybe next time).
5) I was shooting 50 ft slow fire targets from 50 ft away. I was scoring in the 40s to low 50s. I guess at best that would be Marksman 1st class (which is pretty low on the totem pole). Basically I can only hit a basketball from 50 feet away :)
6) I got though 470 rounds before it was closing time. I suspect I’ll go back this evening as well.