Ruger Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone. A couple weeks ago I finally purchased my first handgun, a P90TH. I've been hunting for about 12 years now and am fairly familiar with rifles and shotguns, but my handgun experience is pretty limited.

I have a few questions about my P90...

1) I've been shooting at my cabin at about 20 yards, which, from what I've been reading in here, is a little far for a handgun. Pretty much all of my shots are left on the target. They are still making the paper, so they're not too bad, but probably anywhere from 1-8 inches left. I know the rear sight is adjustable on my P90, but would you recommend trying to correct this? I'm a little nervous that I'm going to adjust it too far and end up with a mess trying to realign the sight at all. Especially considering that (from what I've read) it takes quite a bit of force to get the rear sight to move at all.

2) My P90 was used, and the white dots on the sights just don't cut it. I read that model paint works well for these. Do I have to remove the old paint, or can I just slap some on there?

3) I've been looking for a thigh holster for my P90. I've tried on my brother's and I like the way it feels and the sturdiness of having the gun on my leg. His is for a S&W though and I'm having a bit of a problem finding one for my P90. Any suggestions? The only one I could find was this one from blade-tech: http://www.blade-tech.com/Tactical-Thigh-holsters-pr-875.html
Any thoughts on the brand or the specific model?

4) Ammunition. I realize I could probably ask 5 people and get 5 different answers, but this is what I decided on for ammo. I'm shooting mag-tech FMJ for practice since they're fairly affordable. For personal defense, I went with Hornady 230 grain TAP-FPD (https://www.hornady.com/shop/?ps_se...&category_id=f2052c19978003cb6085adead52ee5b6)
Is 230 grain too much? Should I move down to 200 or 185?