Ruger Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
TL;DR - Mark III target or competition model for first time gun buyer who wants to blow away some targets?

Hey everyone. Quick background about me, I have little to no knowledge of guns and have only shot one time in my life (a few rounds through a friends Glock). I've also never owned one.

With that said, I WANT A RUGER! :D

I did a lot of research and it seems everyone is pleased with any Mark series pistol. I'm looking at the Mark III personally. I went to a local gun shop and held one compared to the 22/45, I like the pointability of the Mark III better.

I'll only be using it at the range for some target shooting and building some good shooting skills and fundamentals. I hope to also get involved in some competitions when I don't suck as much lol.

With that said, on Ruger's website I see the Mark III comes in four different "trims." Basic, target, hunter, and competitions, and as is human nature I immediately divebombed towards the shiney looking competition model!

Is there any significant difference between the competition and the target models? I know the competition has a longer barrel and the slabsides but those are really the only differences I can come up with. If the competition is better for target shooting, I'll probably go with that so I have a good gun to bring to competitions when I get to that level.

Also, random question, I can figure out how to take apart a Mark III from a thread I found here. But how in the world do I learn how to clean it :confused:

Thanks for any help!

·
Registered
4,958 Posts
If money is an issue, just get yourself the 5 1/2" Target. Having owned and shot them all, there is more random variation from one gun to the next than there is any feature advantages.